A Heartwarming Visit to See Family In Germany

Introduction: DIS offers another incredible opportunity for self-travel, and during Study Week 1, I explored Sweden with my class (check out my blog for details). In Week 2, I embarked on a journey to Germany to visit family. Now, let me share the amazing experience of visiting my “aunt-in-law’s” parents’ house during my DIS Long study tour’s free week in Germany.

Now, let me clarify the familial ties here. When we searched for a formal name and found none, we laughed it off. Technically, they’re not my grandparents, but we playfully refer to them as “grandparents by extension.” It might raise an eyebrow or two, but to everyone I’ve spoken to, I simply say they are my relatives.

Getting Spoiled: I spent six wonderful days in Germany with family, and being away from my own family while abroad, this reunion brought an overwhelming sense of joy and connection.

With four brothers back home, transitioning to feeling like an only child was, let’s say, a delightful shock to the system. My newfound “grandparents” were the architects of coziness. They had this magical pellet oven, and guess who got the coveted spot closest to it? They were on a mission to keep me warm and comfortable.

Feeding me became a national pastime for them. I’d barely finish one meal, and they were already planning the next. They’d pile blankets on my bed, turn on the heaters in my room and bathroom, making sure I was “snug as a bug in a rug” — their words, not mine.

The food-related attention didn’t stop there. My German “grandma” was convinced that mineral water, with its electrolytes, was the only way to stay hydrated. So, half tap, half mineral water became my daily hydration ritual.

Breakfasts were incredible. There were assortments of cheese, bread, including pretzels, fruit bowls, and some pastries, of course. They’d have a spread ready every morning, ensuring I started my day with a smile and a full stomach. And the fruit bowl? Oh, it got a health upgrade with the addition of ginger, all in the name of intestinal well-being.

The Power of Family: But what truly touched my heart was their constant concern for my well-being. “Do you need more food?” “Is the room warm enough?” “Are you comfortable?” Every question was a reminder of the genuine care and warmth that surrounded me.

Experiencing a Homely and Authentic Germany: I had the pleasure of meeting my uncle’s sister-in-law and her family during this trip. My cousins? It was a delightful experience, and it further reinforced the sense of family and connection that permeated the entire journey.

My visit to Bayreuth allowed me to experience Germany in the best way possible. I attended high school dances with my cousins, even though I felt a bit out of place, given that they were all around 15 years old. I explored the town’s cultural landmarks, including the castle, Eremitage, two Royal operas, and the enchanting rose garden. We traveled to Bamberg, and I got to see incredible views and enjoy amazing food!

And, of course, no trip is complete without indulging in local delights. I enjoyed hot chocolate and cake at charming cafes and relished lunch and dinner at their favorite restaurants.

Those six days have been some of the best moments abroad. From the pellet oven warmth to the ginger-infused fruit bowls, every gesture spoke the language of love.

Conclusion: So, here’s to family reunions and the joy of feeling smothered in the best way possible. Prost to my German “grandparents by extension” and the unforgettable warmth they brought into my DIS personal long study tour! Thank you, DIS, for providing so many amazing opportunities to travel and explore. For any prospective or future DIS students, make sure to take advantage of the opportunities DIS provides. Take time to travel, whether it’s outside Denmark or in Copenhagen. Look into programs such as Slow Travelers, make lists of places, shops, bakeries, and soak up every second abroad.



Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started