Happy Holidays: Wrapping Up (Exploration Elective, visiting host family and the end of study abroad)

Introduction: I hope you all had an amazing holiday season. I wanted to wrap up my blog posts and this semester with at least one more entry. I will probably post one more to document post-study abroad. Thank you for reading my posts, and I hope I have helped, inspired, or connected with you in some way. This semester has been the best semester of college. Denmark forever has a place in my heart. So if you’re ever questioning going abroad… DO IT. I wanted to share some last experiences and thoughts in this blog post.

Exploration Elective: During my Thanksgiving break, I participated in an exploration elective to Portugal with my Disaster Management course. This adventure seamlessly combined city exploration with academic immersion, offering a holistic experience that I highly recommend to fellow students. The academic component focused on Portugal’s response to a devastating earthquake, providing a unique lens into disaster management. Through lectures, workshops, and site visits, we gained insights into the country’s strategies for preparedness, response, and recovery. Interacting with local experts and witnessing firsthand experiences broadened our global perspective on disaster management. My journey to Portugal was more than a break; it was a unique educational experience that expanded my horizons. For students seeking a dynamic blend of cultural exploration and academic depth, I wholeheartedly recommend embracing exploration electives. When you pick courses…

Visiting Host Family: This is one of the best decisions I have ever made. This program allows students to get connected with a family that is willing to help welcome you to Denmark. You fill out a quick form located in your registration portal on the right with your preferences and can get matched with a family! I had a lovely family of four that took me on boat rides, to Tivoli, to dinner multiple times, and bike rides. It was amazing to have them around, and I recommend it to everyone. I now have an amazing connection and family in Denmark. I am excited to continue our friendship. Learn more below on the DIS website!

https://disabroad.org/copenhagen/semester/visiting-host-program/#:~:text=This%20will%20give%20you%20the,want%20to%20share%20their%20own.

The End of the Semester: Finals season quickly swept in and took me by surprise. Just be aware if your classes are loaded heavier at the end, like mine were. In the last week, my suitemates and I made a huge list of things we wanted to do before we left and did them all!! (One of them included going to a bar in our PJs). We went back to our favorite bakeries, shops, Christmas markets, and restaurants to soak up the last moments of our time in Copenhagen.

Conclusion: Studying abroad has been the best experience of my life. Please apply to DIS Copenhagen!! Make sure to check out other blogs from Fall 2023! I’ll be back one more time to talk about my post-abroad experience!



Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started